RELAIS CA' MAFFIO
Relais near Venice and Treviso
Ca’ Maffio was built in the 14th century as a castaldìa, a house for the steward of the convent of San Maffio.
San Maffio was the name given to the vast area of land owned by the nuns who were devoted to St Matthew and became the name of the villa whose façade still holds a small 15th-century relief depicting St Matthew with the words SANCTVS MATEVS, in Venetian dialect “San Maffio”.
Villa Ca’ Maffio welcomes its guests in the enchanting setting of the Sile nature reserve. Explore magnificent riverscapes and ramble through the lovely countrysides of the Venetian hinterland, or visit nearby Venice and Treviso, gems of Veneto art, history and culture.
Ca’ Maffio is an aristocratic country residence with the typical Trevisan round-arched façade, recently restored to its former splendour.
The charming ambience, luxurious drapery, period furnishings and refined decorations characterising the spacious rooms in Villa Cà Maffio mingle with the discreet intimacy of a welcoming informal environment.
Guests will find a warm welcome all year around in Villa Ca’ Maffio and its relaxed elegance rooms in the splendid natural setting of the surrounding parkland.
Ca’ Maffio has four rooms with en-suite bathrooms. Each room is distinguished by a different colour scheme: Green, yellow, violet, red. Each colour scheme blends in perfectly with the refined furnishings and elegant fabrics.
Ca’ Maffio offers its guests a period ambience with all modern comforts; all rooms have air-conditioning, safe, wi-fi (also in garden), Internet connection. Television upon request. During the warmer months guests can enjoy an al-fresco breakfast or sundowner in the villa’s lovely garden.
The ancient Venetian art of lace-making
An ancient legend says that the origins of lace lie in the so-called “trina delle sirene” – mermaid’s lace – an aquatic plant given by a sailor to a beautiful Venetian girl. She was so struck by its beauty that she wished to recreate it, thus giving rise to the art of lace-making.
These precious trimmings used to decorate garments and drapery soon won the favour of Venetian noblewomen who were the first to contribute to its production and diffusion in the islands of the Most Serene Republic, later founding lace-making schools at the end of the 19th century.
In 1870, Michelangelo Jesurum opened the “Manifattura Veneziana dei merletti” and needle lace schools in Burano, as well as schools teaching the bobbin lace technique typical of Pellestrina and the filet lace-making more popular in Chioggia.
Using the traditional cylindrical embroidery cushion the skilful hands of the Burano lace-makers wove the woof and warp of sophisticate motifs, producing fine laces that soon spread to all the courts of Europe.
“Punto Venezia” (Venetian point), “punto Burano” (Burano point), and “punto Margherita” (Margherita point) embellished wedding gowns, parasols, bedspreads and royal trousseaux.
Jesurum, known as “il Michelangelo dei fuselli” (the Michelangelo of Bobbins), was awarded the gold medal in Paris for inventing polychrome bobbin lace with coloured silk threads; in 1906 he founded the Lace-Making Museum in his palazzo.
In 1939 the Levi Morenos family bought Jesurum, the historic Venetian lace-making company, thus saving it from bankruptcy and oblivion and saving its precious lace collection and war archive material. The guests of Ca’ Maffio can admire some of the historic pieces from the Levi Morenos family’s private collection now on display in the villa.